The function of the Dominion Bureau of Statistics is to compile, analyse and publish statistical information relative to the commercial, industrial, financial, social and general condition of the people and to conduct a census of population and agriculture of Canada as required under the Act.

The Bureau is a major publication agency of the Federal Government; the subjects of its reports cover all aspects of the national economy. The administrative head of the Bureau is the Dominion Statistician who reports to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Emergency Measures Organization.—This Organization was established in June 1957 for the purpose of co-ordinating civil emergency planning. On Sept. 1, 1959, the Department of National Defence, Health and Welfare, and Justice became responsible for specific civil defence functions and the Emergency Measures Organization for all other aspects of planning civil emergency measures.* The Organization reports to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production.

Department of External Affairs.—This Department was established in 1909 by "An Act to create a Department of External Affairs" (RSC 1952, c. 68). Its main function is the protection and advancement of Canadian interests abroad. The Minister responsible for the Department is the Secretary of State for External Affairs. The senior permanent officer (Deputy Minister) of the Department, the Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs, is assisted by a Deputy Under-Secretary who is also Legal Adviser and by four Assistant Under-Secretaries and is advised by the officers in charge of the various divisions. The divisional heads are each responsible for a part of the work of the Department and they are assisted by Foreign Service Officers, administrative officers and an administrative staff. Officers serving abroad are formally designated as High Commissioners, Ambassadors, Ministers, Counsellors, First Secretaries, Second Secretaries, Third Secretaries and Attachés at diplomatic posts and Consuls General, Consuls and Vice-Consuls at consular posts. There are 76 diplomatic, consular and other missions maintained abroad by the Department. In 29 additional countries, Canada is represented by non-resident Ambassadors or High Commissioners.

The work of the Department at Ottawa is performed by 25 units, comprising 23 divisions and two sections. The divisions may be grouped into three categories—area, functional and administrative. There are six area divisions—African and Middle Eastern, Commonwealth, European, Far Eastern, Latin American and United States; twelve functional divisions—Communications, Consular, Defence Liaison (1), Defence Liaison (2), Disarmament, Economic, Historical, Information, Legal, Passport, Protocol and United Nations; and five administrative divisions—Administrative Services, Finance, Personnel, Registry, and Supplies and Properties. The two sections are Inspection Service and Liaison Services.

The International Joint Commission reports to the Secretary of State for External Affairs of Canada as well as to the Secretary of State of the United States.

Department of Finance.—This Department was created by Act of Parliament in 1869 and now operates under the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1952, c. 116). The Department is responsible for the financial administration of Canada including the raising of money required for the various governmental activities by way of taxation or borrowing. The Comptroller of the Treasury, an officer of the Department, is responsible for all government disbursements. The work of the Department is organized in five principal divisions: Financial Affairs, Economic Affairs, Taxation, Federal-Provincial-Municipal Relations, and Treasury Board. The Royal Canadian Mint is a branch of the Department and the Inspector General of Banks is an officer of the Department. The Tariff Board and the Bank of Canada report to Parliament through the Minister of Finance.

Department of Fisheries.—The Department of Fisheries was first organized under a Minister of Fisheries in 1930. Prior to that date the federal fisheries services were maintained by the former Department of Marine and Fisheries, established in 1868. The provinces, under various arrangements, have certain administrative responsibilities in the fisheries but the legislative authority for the regulations of coastal and freshwater fisheries is with the federal Department of Fisheries.

The work of the Department includes: conservation and development of the fisheries through the enforcement of fishing regulations, the operation of fish culture establishments, management and improvement of spawning streams and control of predators; inspection of fish products for quality control and the encouragement of industrial development; promotion of the greatest utilization of fishery products and a proper public understanding of the resource and the industry. The Department administers the Fishermen's Indemnity Plan to assist fishermen in the event of loss or serious damage to their fishing vessels or lobster traps.

or serious damage to their fishing vessels or lobster traps.

Agencies connected with the Department are the Fisheries Prices Support Board and the Fisheries Research Board of Canada. The Department is represented on the following international commissions: Pacific Salmon Fisheries, Pacific Halibut, the Northwest Atlantic Fisheries, North Pacific Fisheries, Whaling, Great Lakes Fishery, and North Pacific Fur Seal.

Fisheries Research Board.—The Fisheries Research Board operates under the Fisheries Research Board Act of 1937 (amended in 1947 and 1952-53). It has been active as a fisheries research body since 1898, first as the Board of Management of the Canadian Marine Biological Station and later (1912) as the Biological Board of Canada.

^{*} On July 1, 1963, the Organization was given the responsibility of directing and administering the Civil Defence College at Arnprior, Ont. (See Part III of Chapter XXV on Defence of Canada.)